What is the Wake Transit Plan?

The Wake Transit Plan is a funding and investment program designed to implement the goals that guide the improvement and expansion of public transportation in Wake County. Voters approved a half-cent sales tax in 2016 dedicated to investments in public transit. The investments of Wake Transit Plan funds are guided by the Four Big Moves:

  1. Connect Regionally
  2. Connect All Wake County Communities
  3. Invest in Frequent, Reliable Urban Mobility
  4. Enhance Access to Transit

To accomplish the Wake Transit Plan’s Four Big Moves, GoTriangle and the Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (CAMPO) are assigned to work as lead agencies. The Wake Transit Plan serves as the foundational document for the program. It is developed by the two lead agencies with extensive participation from Wake Transit Plan partners, members of the community, and key stakeholders. The Wake Transit Plan sets system goals and investment priorities for enhancing the transit system in Wake County over a 10-year period. To remain current, the Wake Transit Plan is updated every four years. The Wake Transit Plan currently extends through FY 2030. The upcoming Wake Transit Plan Update will extend it through 2035.

An annual budget is adopted for each fiscal year to provide a yearly blueprint for service improvements and capital investments. The budget is known as the Wake Transit Work Plan. The annual Wake Transit Work Plan helps ensure the Wake Transit Plan is effectively and efficiently implemented. The Wake Transit Plan’s annual budget, including revenue estimates and cost assumptions, is published in the Wake Transit Work Plan.

The Work Plan requires public input and the ongoing involvement of key partners. In addition to GoTriangle and CAMPO, the Wake Transit Program depends on input from county residents, community stakeholders, and the following partners:

  • Wake County
  • City of Raleigh
  • Town of Cary
  • Town of Apex
  • Town of Fuquay-Varina
  • Town of Garner
  • Town of Holly Springs
  • Town of Knightdale
  • Town of Morrisville
  • Town of Rolesville
  • Town of Wake Forest
  • Town of Wendell
  • Town of Zebulon
  • North Carolina State University
  • Research Triangle Foundation of North Carolina

Learn more:

Leave a Comment